top of page

Top Songs of June

Back with our second installment in Top Songs, here are 9 of our favorites of June 2020. Listen with an active ear and open mind, and you may just find some new music you really love.

Editorial by D

7/3/20


SONG 33 - NONAME

For those that aren’t familiar with the rap beef between Noname and J. Cole, you aren’t missing much, but here’s a quick summary: J. Cole dropped Snow On Tha Bluff mid-June, a song addressing Black Lives Matter and police brutality, but also… sneak dissing Noname? Noname, who’s admirably done her part to educate herself and her followers, taking leadership over her platform as a force for good? I’m at a loss, but regardless, Song 33 fires back at Cole briefly while diving deep with heavy lyricism, alluding to a number of POC unjustly killed in the aftermath of George Floyd’s murder and criticizing those who haven’t done their part to fight for justice. Noname has since apologized for her clapback at Cole, stating that her ego got the best of her, which just makes her that much cooler to me.

 

PELOTA - KHRUANGBIN

“A Texan band with a Thai name singing a song in Spanish, loosely based on a Japanese movie.” Yes, I’m talking about Khruangbin again, and if you haven’t given them a listen yet, you’re really missing out. This one comes from the psychedelic-funk trio’s ever-worldly new album Mordechai, which is worth a listen from start to finish. Like all their music, Pelota is a magical sonic experience, one that is best enjoyed loud and with 3 minutes of uninterrupted chill.

 

MY WORLD - CHRISTOPHER NORMANN

christopher normann is an artist very near and dear to my heart. We’ve done an interview with him, he’s done a live performance for us -- he’s as amazing a musician as he is a person. normann heavily incorporates elements of jazz/R&B, hip hop, and indie pop to create an incredible and unique sound comparable to few. my world features Annika Park’s soft, beautiful vocals and a rap verse from normann himself, with one particular line hitting just a little too close to home: (I’m the life of the party/Till I’m on my way home). For those that haven’t streamed it yet, his latest album berries is absolutely worth a listen.

 

WALKING IN THE SNOW - RTJ

This one may be a bit too hard-hitting for the average listener, but Run the Jewels don’t just make angry music to get hyped up to at the gym. The critically-acclaimed hip hop duo of Killer Mike and El-P have never shied away from tackling political and social issues, and their latest album RTJ4 is no exception. The album is exactly what Amerikkka needs right about now, focusing on criticizing police corruption and systemic racism, and doing so through the medium of heavy, dynamic beats and dense lyricism. It may be too early to say, but this very well may be my hip hop album of the year. The second verse of walking in the snow, delivered by Killer Mike, speaks for itself:


And every day on the evening news, they feed you fear for free

And you so numb, you watch the cops choke out a man like me

Until my voice goes from a shriek to whisper, "I can't breathe"

And you sit there in the house on couch and watch it on TV

The most you give's a Twitter rant and call it a tragedy

 

ELASTIC - BRANDON

The one and only Brandon, an up-and-coming R&B artist, secured his spot as one to watch with his new single Elastic, landing him features in Spotify playlists like Make Out Jams, Silk Sheets, and idk. The track features little more than guitar and vocals, and that minimalism is part of what makes this song so beautiful. It’s mellow and catchy, the kind of song you can both chill out to or cry to, with a sound comparable to that of Daniel Caesar or Dijon. Listen with caution, though: the hook may get stuck in your head for a while.

 

PUNISHER - PHOEBE BRIDGERS

There’s nothing I can say about Bridgers’ new album Punisher that would do it justice. In a word: cathartic. It’s almost unfair to only mention one song from the album; even though individually they’re all extraordinary, as a single cohesive piece, this album is just purely cathartic. Having said that though, the track Punisher is my single favorite song of hers, and it paints a good picture of what the rest of the album sounds like. It’s one of those songs that will just make you cry -- or at least give you unshakeable goosebumps.

 

DAISY (DEMO) - VERN MATZ

vern matz is a band I’ve been looking for an excuse to talk about for a while now. I first discovered their song Rabbit God a few months ago and instantly fell in love with their sound. Like most of their music, Daisy (Demo) is a stripped-back, folky song featuring only acoustic guitar, piano, and vocals. I can’t figure out what it is about vern matz’s sound that gives me that warm feeling in my heart. They sound like a long drive in the countryside, or a campfire deep in the empty woods, or meeting someone for the first time who you instantly connect with. These similes made more sense in my head, so hopefully you can make some sense of that. Regardless, the point is: listen and feel it.

 

WHERE TO START - BULLY

Bully is punk AF. If you often find yourself wishing you were around for ‘90s riot grrrl and grunge like I do, you’ll probably love them. To me, their sound is the love child of bands like the Pixies, Sonic Youth, and Hole (but switch Courtney Love with a much more likable, much less insane frontwoman). For me, the highlight of Where to Start, the first single from the band’s upcoming album SUGAREGG, is Alicia Bognanno’s trademark, emotion-packed, screaming vocals. If you told me Bully was actually around back in the ‘90s, I’d totally believe you.

 

HONEY I SURE MISS YOU - BUILT TO SPILL

This song comes from an entire album of Daniel Johnston covers, which I didn’t know I needed, but I’m now sure I do. Johnston is one of my favorite artists ever, and these covers can’t compare to the pure beauty that the original recordings hold, but hearing modern, polished versions makes me feel a sort of nostalgia for when I first discovered his music. It’s like reliving that experience all over again. If you don’t share my love for Johnston’s music, this song may not be particularly special for you, but if you do, brace yourself for the feels.

 

Hear all these songs and more in Our June Picks, a carefully curated playlist by us!


logo.png
bottom of page