top of page

The Kyle Baillargeon Interview

Fueled by tzatziki-flavored snacks, indie singer-songwriter and goofball Kyle Baillargeon has been pumping out soft, heartfelt tunes since starting his solo career in January of this year. His sound is stripped-back, mildly melancholy, and heavily features acoustic guitar, great to chill out to, or to idly mope and reflect to, if you're in that mood.


We talked with Kyle about his love for Elliott Smith and Hank Williams, his beginnings with music, and his favorite memes. Read the interview below.

@j_rugg_

Interview by D

7/31/20


YP: Who are you?


KB: Hi, I’m Kyle Baillargeon!


YP: Where are you from?


KB: I’m from Niagara Falls, New York.


YP: How did you first get started with music?


KB: I saw a video of Mac Demarco recording his album Another One and it really inspired me. It was just him recording all of the instruments on not-so-fancy equipment at home. Then I got some gear and software and started messing around with home recording. The process of recording every instrument by yourself and layering them really hooked me from the start. Sort of blew me away.

YP: What instruments do you play?


KB: Guitar, piano, bass, harmonica, drums, little bit of uke and mandolin.


YP: When did you first start with those?


KB: About three and a half years ago.


YP: What inspired you to start playing in the first place?


KB: My friend Christian plays guitar, and I wanted to back him up on piano, so I bought a little keyboard.


YP: Self taught?


KB: Yeah! Pretty much all through YouTube.


YP: I discovered your solo work through Closing State - who and what is Closing State?


KB: That was me and Christian’s band. He would usually write the songs, then we would record them together. We still make tunes together from time to time. Amazing animator, amazing friend

YP: Is the band still active?


KB: Not at the moment. We are going to hangout and record some music soon, though.


YP: When did you start your solo career?


KB: January of 2020! But I’ve been writing songs by myself for three and a half years.


YP: Where does your cover artwork come from?


KB: Some are from my good friend Matt. I absolutely love his film photography and I feel like it fits the aesthetic of my music perfectly. I've known him pretty much my whole life. Love him to death. Some of the other ones I took/edited myself.


YP: You’ve put out 2 EPs and a ton of singles in your relatively young career - any plans for a bigger project?


KB: I’ve been thinking about doing a full album of around 8 songs. That’s definitely on my to do list. Not sure when it will happen, but I’m aiming for it.


YP: Your single Cared is what first made me a fan, with soft instrumentation and personal lyrics. What’s the story behind that one?


KB:I definitely don’t want to set one rigid specific meaning to any of my songs. I feel like they can mean different things to different people. But I was thinking about how reflecting on events/people that are long gone is a waste of time. I also don’t assign very specific meanings to songs while I’m writing them. I’ll usually start with one phrase that resonates with me and build on from there.

@matt_delong

YP: Who are your biggest musical influences?


KB: I’d have to say Elliott Smith and Hank Williams. I love Elliott Smith’s sense of melody and his overall sound. An absolute genius. Amazing lyrics as well. And I love Hank Williams for his brutal honesty in his songwriting. I listened to both of them non-stop on my 35 minute commute back and forth from college. For about two years straight I only listened to Either/Or by Elliott Smith and a Best Of compilation of Hank Williams. I would just rotate them every week or so. Once I find a couple artists I like, I just binge their music. I’m not a very adventurous music listener.


YP: How would you describe your sound or genre?


KB: I’d say it's under the indie umbrella. Just very chill, maybe a little melancholic at times. Easy on the ears.


YP: Here’s probably the toughest question you’ll get tonight: 5 desert island albums?


KB: Might be easier for me than you think. Let’s see… Either/Or - Elliott Smith. Elliott Smith - Elliott Smith. John Prine - John Prine. I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning - Bright Eyes. Lil Uzi Vert vs. The World - Lil Uzi Vert. I put on Uzi after the other 4 albums make me sad. A little pick me up.


YP: What’re you doing when you aren’t making music?


KB: Drinking coffee on my couch, watching YouTube videos, hanging out with friends, working, cooking breakfast. Not much to be honest.

YP: What are your short and long term goals with music?


KB: Short term I’d say is to just keep writing songs that I enjoy listening to. Long term, maybe sign a record deal so that I can live off of making music. That would be amazing! I’m in no rush for that, though - I’m having a blast where I’m at now.


YP: I would dare describe you as a meme enthusiast, would you agree?


KB: I definitely partake in my fair share of memes. Definitely a hobbyist.


YP: Are you on TikTok?


KB: No, I’m not at the moment. I haven’t even downloaded the app yet.


YP: Disregard the bad things you may have heard. There really is some gold on there. Don’t sleep.


KB: Where there are memes, that’s where you’ll find me. I'll get on it. Love a good laugh.


YP: Do you have any particular favorite memes or trends?


KB: Mostly recently me and my friend have been obsessed with BIGTIME TOMMIE.

YP: I’m not familiar but he looks like quite the stud.


KB: He tugs at the ol’ heart strings.


YP: He gives me Hard Rock Nick vibes. I’m not sure how niche that meme is, but if you get the reference you win bonus points.


KB: Never heard. Sounds like a hell of a time though.


YP: Any TV shows or movies you’ve enjoyed recently?


KB: I watched the Bohemian Rhapsody movie a couple times. Super good stuff. The Elliott Smith movie/documentary is amazing as well -- Heaven Adores You.


YP: What’s your opinion on Wheat Thins as a snack?


KB: Pretty solid. Probably healthy? That's good. They have a tzatziki kind that is fire.


YP: What’re your favorite snacks?


KB: Tzatziki Triscuits. 10/10. Best snack is probably grapes. I don’t really be snacking though. I be intermittent fasting. Best snack is water.


YP: Alright, well I think that’s everything I have for you. Anything you want to tell the world? Now’s your chance.


KB: OS 4 LIFE. TAKE IT EASSSS. Always brush your teeth twice a day. Drink plenty of water. Thanks for having me, this was a splendid time!


YP: Thanks so much for taking the time, Kyle! It’s been great speaking with you. Stay yellow!

@matt_delong

 

FOLLOW & support KYLE


logo.png
bottom of page