top of page

Faith Horner's Poetry

"My name is Faith Horner (@faithh.ambie), and writing poetry has always been the best way I can process emotions and situations. I started when I was very young for school assignments, and then didn’t write again until 6th grade, which was due to another assignment. However, it reminded me of my passion for writing and ever since then it’s been my go-to way of truly expressing myself. "I struggle with various mental illnesses that are largely overlooked by the people in my life, and poetry is a way I can verbalize my reality, instead of keeping it all in my head. I’m new to showing people my work because it’s very personal to me. I am known to write poems about my romantic partners/crushes, but then feel self conscious to let them read them because in media, poetry is seen as a very big thing to give someone -- which is true to an extent, but also I just write a lot.

"My most common theme is usually dark subject matter, which is another reason I don’t share my work a lot. I’m working on creating more light-hearted poetry in hopes of being able to put myself out there more."

 

Alone in the Wild


who would send you out into the wild alone?


for alone is where i’ve always been


you reach a truce with the shadows


they see your fragile frame each time it collapses in on itself, shaking;shattering


they’ll be quiet if you are


they’ll keep your secret, if you do


they’ll watch the blood fall

turn their heads

for who are shadows of agony to judge


if walls could talk?

you are mistaken

i keep their secrets too.

 

Bicycle


man on a bicycle,

more like tricycle

with the way he acts like a child

staring and provoking

no qualms with uttering what he thinks is a compliment

realizing that I’m not going to reply

he response is to chuckle as he rides away

sure his eyes stay on my unmoving body


i stop for a breath on my run

i see him riding closer

I can already tell.

I can tell by the way,

his eyes pierce my young skin

how his smirk begins to grow

and his lips get ready to yell for me

i turn my back to him

so startled by his voice i nearly jump

my heart jolts

i stop breathing

i am frozen

praying that you just keep on riding by

because if you stop there in your tracks

I don’t know if I’ll run

or be stuck here screaming

as you grow closer

ready to reach out

poke and prod like your new toy

I raise my hands

please man on a bicycle;

should be tricycle,

please don’t hurt me.

 

It Seemed a Dream


it seemed a dream

the way the dream became truth

truth that spilled from our lips

into the dark night

and river rushing by.

I don’t want to believe

because if I believe

it will hurt when it leaves

i would rather be dreaming

than to lose these moments

with you

over and over again.

I can’t pretend to be happy

knowing it will end

end with you there

and me here.

tell me what is the point

what is the point

if it’s all going to end in a few short days

no point in denying

either side.

one side’s denial:

this will last forever

don’t think about tomorrow

the other side’s denial:

I don’t want you

I don’t want you close

don’t make me say, I love you

logo.png
bottom of page